Del Mar Photonics

The International Conference on Nanophotonics (NANO)

May 11-14, 2009
Harbin Institute of Technology
Harbin P.R. China

Call For Papers!
Submit your abstracts by February 16.

This conference provides an international forum for the most recent and advanced issues concerning materials and devices, nanofabrication methods, nanoscale imaging and characterization. This topical meeting brings together international scientists and researchers interested in the recent developments in nanophotonics.

Submissions are currently being accepted for the Conference Technical Program. Abstract submissions will be accepted via Detailed information can be found at deadline for the 100-200 word abstract is February 16, 2009.

Selected submissions will be published in the Journal of Nonlinear Optical Physics and Materials (JONPM) or Chinese Optics Letters (COL). JONPM and COL are international journals in English. Both journals are SCI and EI indexed.

Meeting Topics to be Considered for Submissions:

Materials and devices:

* Molecular architectures: dendrimers, supramolecules, liquid crystals, bioinspired materials
* Semiconductors: quantum dots, nano rods, heterostructures
* Plasmonics: nanoparticles, core-shell particles, multi-layer transparent metals
* Photonic crystals: dispersion engineering and applications, filters, nonlinear optics, photonic devices
* Metamaterials: nanocomposites, chirality, biomimetics
* Sources and detector

Nanofabrication methods:

* Novel nanofabrication techniques
* Nanoimprint technology
* Self assembly
* Laser directwriting
* Interference lithography
* Chemical growth
* Etching techniqes

Nanoscale optics imaging and nanocharacterization:

* Emerging nanoscale optical imaging schemes
* Near field scanning optical imaging
* Plasmonic enhancement of resolving power
* Superresolution techniques

Del Mar Photonics nano-imaging gallery

High resolution MFM image of Seagate Barracuda 750Gb Hard Drive, ST3750640AS.
130 nm Ag nanoparticles immobilized on the metal surface, 3.6x3.6 um scan
Magnetic structure of surface domains in Yttrium Iron Garnet (YIG) film
Atomic resolution on HOPG obtained with the 100 micron scanner
NSOM Fluorescence image of 100 nm - diameter TransFluoSpheres
Near-field optical image of 250 nm - diameter gold beads, deposited onto a glass slide
AFM (topography) image of DNA (<3 nm thickness), deposited onto a glass slide
Near-field optical image of 100 nm - diameter polystyrene beads, deposited onto a glass slide

Send us your sample for nano-characterization!!!


* Nanophotonics for energy
* Nanophotonics for sensors
* Nanophotonics for information processing

Related Del Mar Photonics Products:

Near-field Scanning Optical Microscope (NSOM)
Femtosecond nanophotonics
Femtosecond NSOM

Plenary Speakers:

* Nanophotonics and Its Pivitol Role in Meeting the 21st Century Challenge of Renewable Energy, Paras Prasad; SUNY Buffalo, USA
* Title To Be Announced, Min Gu; Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
* Title To Be Announced, Concita Sibilia; University of Rome, Italy
* Title To Be Announced, John Sipe; University of Toronto, Canada

Invited Speakers:

* Improving the Coupling Between Photons and Molecules in Free Space, Mario Agio; ETH Zurich, Switzerland
* Title To Be Announced, Habib Ammari; Ecole Polytechnique and CNRS, France
* Subwavelength 3D Optics, George Barbastathis; MIT, USA
* Popcorn-Style ZnO/Tio2 Films For Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells, Gaozhong Cao; University of Washington, USA
* Title To Be Announced, Rainer Hillenbrand; Max-Planck, Germany
* Large Area Plasmonics Structures Fabrication, Minghui Hong; National University of Singapore, Singapore
* Nanostructured Hybrid Organic-Inorganic Solar Cells, Julia Hsu; Sandia National Lab, USA
* Title To Be Announced, Peter Lodahl; Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
* Multiphoton Microfabrication and Replication Technique for MEMS Application, Shoji Maruo; Yokohama National University, Japan
* Title to Be Announced, Ross McPhedran; University of Sydney, Australia
* Title To Be Announced, Sang Hyun Oh; University of Minnesota, USA
* Title To Be Announced, Daniel Ou-yang; Lehigh University, USA
* Nonlinear Electrochromism and Nonlinear Photochromism, Merek Samoc; Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
* On the Transit SPP Launched by Subwavelength Real Metal Slits, Yunlong Sheng; Laval University, Canada
* Title To Be Announced, Max Shtein; University of Michigan, USA
* Optical Metamaterials: Science and Applications, Gennady Shvets; University of Texas at Austin, USA
* High Efficiency Blue and White OLEDs, Franky So; University of Florida, USA
* Plasmonic Metamaterials Fabricated and Used for Photo-Catalytic Chemical Reactors, Din-Ping Tsai; NTU and ITRS, Taiwan
* Multi-Scales, Multi-Functions Devises Developed from Natural Phonic Structures, Jean-Pol Vigneron; FUNDP, Belgium
* Title To Be Announced, Zhoumin Zhang; Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

2009 Nano Short Courses

Nanophotonics, Joseph Haus and Qiwen Zhan; University of Dayton, USA

Nanostructures for Photovoltaics, Jiangeng Xue; University of Florida, USA

*Short courses offered are free for student attendees.

Conference Chairs
Qiwen Zhan, Univ. of Dayton, USA
Qihuang Gong, Peking Univ., China
Xiudong Sun, Harbin Inst. of Technology, China

Technical Committee Chairs
Yiping Cui, Southeastern Univ., China
Joseph W. Haus, Univ. of Dayton, USA

Sponsored by:
OSA, The Chinese Optical Society, National Science Foundation of China, and Harbin Institute of Technology



Conference Honorary Chairs

Paras N. Prasad (State University of New York at Buffalo, USA)
Bingkun Zhou (Chinese Optical Society, Tsinghua University, China)
Conference Co-chairs:

Qihuang Gong (Peking University, China)
Qiwen Zhan (University of Dayton, USA)
Xiudong Sun (Harbin Institute of Technology, China)
International Program Committee

Yiping Cui (Southeastern University, China)
Joseph W. Haus (University of Dayton, USA)

Kiyoshi Asakawa (Tsukuba University, Japan)
Didier Felbacq (University of Montpellier, France)
John T. Fourkas (University of Maryland, USA)
Guang S. He (SUNY at Buffalo, USA)
Sailing He (Zhejiang University, China and KTH, Sweden)
Ho Pui Ho (the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Minghui Hong (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
Andrei V. Kabashin (Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada)
Satoshi Kawata (Osaka University, Japan)
James R. Leger (University of Minnesota, USA)
Marko Loncar (Harvard University, USA)
Qinming Luo (Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China)
Xiangang Luo (Institute of Optics and Electronics, CAS, China)
Hai Ming (University of Science and Technology of China)
Kazuaki Sakoda (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Marek Samoc (Australian National University, Australia)
Vahid Sandoghdar (ETH, Switzerland)
Concita Sibilia (Universita Roma, Italy)
Lars Thylen (KTH, Sweden)
Teck-Yong Tou (Multimedia University, Malaysia)
Dinping Tsai (National Taiwan University)
Qiming Wang (Institute of Semiconductor, CAS, China)
Jingjun Xu (Nankai University, China)
Jiangeng Xue (University of Florida, USA)
Guozhen Yang (Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
Zhou Yu (New Focus Inc., USA)
Changhe Zhou (SIOFM- CAS, China)